Since its founding in 2007, San Francisco indie rock group Geographer has brought major recognition and pride to the Bay Area’s music scene. Their latest LP Ghost Modern, released earlier this year, shifted their sound from synth-dominant to more acoustic and lyrically driven, easily becoming front man Mike Deni’s most compelling work. Just recently, Geographer announced their Endless Motion EP Vol. 1 set to be released December 14 via Roll Call Records.

The EP is composed of cover songs ranging from electronic DJ Felix Da Housecat’s “Ready 2 Wear” to more classic songs like Paul Simon’s “I Know What I Know” (recently released on SoundCloud), along with covers of New Order and Kate Bush favorites. A re-working of Arthur Russel’s “This Is How We Walk On The Moon” (also featured on the EP) produced just last year inspired Deni to compile a recording entirely of covers. Listen to the Paul Simon cover below:

The concept EP acts as a lead-in to Geographer’s upcoming tour with RAC as well as their New Year’s Eve show at The Big One inside San Francisco’s Bill Graham Civic Auditorium. Given the vocal capabilities of Mike Deni and the instrumental prowess of he and the band, we are sure to hear some exceptional covers of some very classic tracks.

Geographer – Endless Motion EP Vol. 1 Tracklist:

  1. Ready 2 Wear (Felix Da Housecat)
  2. This Is How We Walk On The Moon (Arthur Russell)
  3. Age Of Consent (New Order)
  4. Cloudbusting (Kate Bush)
  5. I Know What I Know (Paul Simon)