Bandcamp City Guide - Oakland

Recently, Oakland’s music scene has been raking in the national press. In February, it was Fantastic Negrito delivering the winning video for NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert contest filmed inside of a freight train: “behind a desk made of a steel slab and a work bench, this soulful character won our hearts” was Bob Boilen’s praise. The winnings included a place on the bill for a SXSW showcase alongside the likes of Charles Bradley and King Tuff, and now he’s slated to perform at this year’s Outside Lands.

Now, Bandcamp – or more specifically, content curator Andrew Jervis – has taken notice. Jervis explains, “Oakland is considered home to more working artists per capita than any other city in the country…. At the heart of Oakland’s burgeoning music scene is a penchant for experimentation and an uncharacteristically collaborative musical community.”

For Bandcamp’s first installment of their new feature Bandcamp City Guides, Jervis chose 11 artists who represent globally diverse styles and had them submit exclusive/unreleased tracks. The album is available digitally, but for the audiophiles it is being pressed on 160-gram vinyl as a limited edition 12″. The album’s artwork was created by Oliver Barrett whose past clients include The Academy Awards and Marvel Studios.

Track Listing:
1. Bells Atlas – Sugar For The Queen
2. Astronauts, etc. – Sometime Tomorrow
3. Raashan Ahmad & Headnodic – Warm Up ft. Karl Denson
4. Waterstrider – Arrive and Leave
5. Sugar Candy Mountain – Being
6. Sun Hop Fat – Yum Yum
7. Ash Reiter – Eye On You
8. Kid Trails – Waltzing
9. Guy Fox – I Don’t Know
10. Queens D. Light – Queen of Zamunda
11. Asonic Garcia – Kami Suite (on E 27th)