Mikal Cronin

Frequent Ty Segall collaborator and kindred musical spirit Mikal Cronin has announced the release of MCII, his debut on Merge Records, on May 7th.

Though 2011’s self-titled debut, which featured ol’ Ty on drums, seemed pretty sunny to us, Cronin says MCII focuses on “new beginnings,” one of which is a recent move from his hometown of Los Angeles to San Francisco.

MCII is available for pre-order at the Merge store. Check out the exuberant first drop, “Shout it Out,” via the widget below.

Cronin will also be taking a brief tour of the West coast, culminating in a stop at The Rickshaw on May 25th.

Mikal Cronin (record release)
Rickshaw Stop
May 25th, 2013
9:00pm, $10/advance, $12/door