San Francisco folk-rocker Thao Nguyen and her band The Get Down Stay Down have a sparkly new album by the name of We the Common, out February 5th. We’ve already heard some early tracks, “We the Common (for Valerie Bolden)” and “Holy Roller,” but the latest to surface is a much-anticipated collaboration with freak-folk wunderkind Joanna Newsom (who also dwelled in the Bay Area for a time, little-known tidbit).

The clip-clop acoustic tune, “Kindness be Conceived,” is simplistic, lighthearted, and gorgeously harmonized (the combination of their voices is almost Feist-esque). The track seems to declare an equal mix of Nguyen and Newsom, with Thao’s upbeat and rattling guitar pop and Joanna’s tinkling, whimsical vocals.

If you can’t get enough of Nguyen, luckily she’s embarking on a US tour to coincide with the release of We the Common. She’ll play with The Get Down Stay Down at Amoeba SF on February 5th and will chime in for the Noise Pop 2013 roll call on March 2nd, when she’ll rock the Great American Music Hall. More details and We the Common‘s track listing are below.

We the Common tracklist:

1. We The Common (for Valerie Bolden)
2. City
3. We Don’t Call
4. The Feeling Kind
5. Holy Roller
6. Kindness Be Conceived
7. The Day Long
8. Every Body
9. Move
10. Clouds For Brains
11. Human Heart
12. Age Of Ice

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down
Amoeba Records
February 6, 2013
6:00pm, free

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down, Sallie Ford & the Sound Outside, Kacey Johansing
Great American Music Hall (Noise Pop 2013)
March 2, 2013
7:00pm, $17/advance, $19/door