Berkeley resident and chillwave pioneer Chaz Bundick announced his next album under the Toro y Moi moniker. Anything In Return will come out January 22nd via Carpark Records. Here’s the record’s first single, “So Many Details”:

As you could perhaps tell from “So Many Details,” Anything In Return is a much less hazy psychedelic experience than the previous two Toro y Moi efforts. It’s more straightforward, with the hip hop influence a little more in the fore and the hooks more dominant. This, it turns out, is no accident.

“I was trying to make a pop record,” Bundick told Interview magazine. “People will be like, ‘What is he doing?’ I’m just trying to make sincere pop music that’s not all processed and bubblegum. Underground isn’t always relevant; I want to see what’s popular, then put my own spin on it.”

Bundick has announced on his blog that he will be hosting two listening events for the new album, one in NYC and one here in SF. The SF event goes down at Public Works from November 16th–18th. At both events, 13 original drawings by Bundick will be on display—that’s one drawing to pair with each of the 13 tracks on the album. Best of all, these events will be FREE and open to the public!

Get full details on both listening events here, and check out the full Anything In Return track listing after the jump.

Anything In Return track listing:
1. Harm In Change
2. Say That
3. So Many Details
4. Rose Quartz
5. Touch
6. Cola
7. Studies
8. High Living
9. Grown Up Calls
10. Cake
11. Day One
12. Never Matter
13. How’s It Wrong