Evan Caminiti

After sitting on the recordings for over a year, Evan Caminiti — one half of drone-metal guitar duo Barn Owl — will release his new solo album Dreamless Sleep via Thrill Jockey Records on August 21.

According to the press release, the album was fully recorded by the Spring of 2011 and then completely rearranged and recomposed when Caminiti returned from 10 months of touring across the country in 2012. Caminiti says that the rearrangement helped him bring out “some of the themes I wanted the songs to reflect initially – the way our memory changes events in the past and how our surroundings define us.”

Expect static, hiss, orchestral swells and the like. Fans looking for an early taste of Dreamless Sleep should head to Caminiti’s show on July 13, 2012 at the Arbor Cafe in Oakland.

Dreamless Sleep tracklisting:

01. Leaving the Island
02. Bright Midnight
03. Symmetry
04. Fading Dawn
05. Absteigend
06. Veiled Prayers
07. Becoming Pure Light