Record Store Day 2012 Logo

This Saturday is Record Store Day 2012, a time to celebrate independent record stores and break the bank snatching up exclusive, limited edition releases. Among the many, many tantalizing offerings coming out on Saturday are the following ten with Bay Area connections. For the full list of RSD releases, head here.

Rhymesayers is releasing a 10″ picture disc featuring artwork by SF’s Jeremy Fish, and new songs from Atmosphere and The Uncluded. The latter is the duo of Aesop Rock and Kimya Dawson, who are releasing a joint LP later this year. From the label:

“Bats” is the first track The Uncluded wrote as a group and pays tribute to Mikey “Eyedea” Larsen, former Moldy Peaches member Aaron Wilkinson & Tero “Camu Tao” Smith, all friends the pair had recently lost. On their journey to Austin via Minneapolis to pay respects to their friends Eyedea and Aaron, the song began to unfold and became their way of talking and coping with that loss. “Bats” became the string that sewed the entire journey together.

Deerhoof‘s latest collaborative 7″ is a split with recent tourmates of Montreal. The A-side features of Montreal’s Kevin Barnes adding new vocals and music to Deerhoof vs. Evil‘s “Secret Mobilization,” and the B-side is of Montreal’s new “Feminine Effects.”

Lex Records celebrates ten years with a beautiful-looking picture disc called Complex. The biggest names on the album are DOOM, Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Danger Mouse, but the comp also features new songs from Jel, and Doseone and Fog performing as Crook&Flail.

Trouble in Mind’s back with another four-band covers 7″, which includes Mikal Cronin tackling The Banana Splits’ “I Enjoy Being A Boy,” as well as reworkings by Apache Dropout, The Paperhead, and The Liminanas.

Here’s a recent blog entry from Sea of Bees‘ about the band’s contribution to a Record Store Day single:

We did a cover of John Denver’s “Leaving on a Jet Plane” as a b-side after we finished up recording on Orangefarben. But, it came out really cool and we decided to put it on the album. But, we had added one new line to the lyrics, so we had to get permission from John Denver’s estate. Well they said yes, and in fact the liked it so much that they are releasing it as a limited edition 7″ for record store day.

Billed as “five catchy, antisocial numbers might be Nobunny’s reaction to people constantly expecting him to be cute,” Nobunny‘s Record Store Day EP features songs with titles that would appear to bear that description out, including “I See Swastikas” and “Lizard Liar$ & Sluts For Hire.”

Last year’s Sacred Bones comp ended up as one of my favorite Record Store Day grabs, and this year’s looks pretty enticing. Among the potential highlights: a new track from Wymond Miles of The Fresh & Onlys’ upcoming full length, an unreleased song from The Men, and an Amen Dunes rarity.

Colossal Yes – “Wishful Thinker”

Oakland’s Colossal Yes is participating in a split 7″ with Deep Fried Boogie Band (which includes Sam Coomes of Quasi). You can listen to the DFBB side here, and Colossal Yes’s offering is above.

Three Lobed Recordings’ eight artist compilation, Eight Trails, One Path, features new guitar works by SF’s Danny Paul Grody (Tarentel, The Drift) as well as Lee Ranaldo, Six Organs of Admittance, Sir Richard Bishop, and more.

Carlton Melton‘s aQ Hits isn’t just a Record Store Day exclusive, it’s exclusive to Aquarius Records. The CD collects the SF psych band’s songs from various out-of-print releases, and it’s limited to just 300 copies.