Chuck Prophet – “Castro Halloween”

Native as the California poppies, singer-songwriter and longtime San Francisco resident Chuck Prophet has written a twelve-track homage to the City by the Bay on his latest album, Temple Beautiful, which dropped on February 7th via North Carolina-based Yep Roc Records.

With a Fender Telecaster and Costello-esque vocals, Prophet walks the listener through the weird yet winsome, politically charged, and sometimes sad streets of the place that he’s called home for the past 30 years. (What’s a great city without a love affair–or several–gone awry?) With Temple Beautiful, he leaves us with a record-long paean of a city as diverse and unpredictable as its microclimates.

Prophet and his band perform at the Great American Music Hall on March 30th. Here’s the track list:

1. Play That Song Again
2. Castro Halloween
3. Temple Beautiful
4. Museum Of Broken Hearts
5. Willie Mays Is Up at Bat
6. The Left Hand and the Right Hand
7. I Felt Like Jesus
8. Who Shot John
9. He Came From So Far Away (Red Man Speaks)
10. Little Girl, Little Boy
11. White Night, Big City
12. Emperor Norton in the Last Year of His Life (1880)