The Heated (aka Cristina Espinosa) has focused her DIY spirit and embarked on the Twelve Songs Project, a project that involves recording and releasing one song at a time for every month of 2010. Her classic, bluesy Liz Phair style is well-represented in “Cars Roll Down,” the first song of this project that will be available for free download until the end of February. Subsequently, February’s song will be available for all of March, March’s song for all of April, etc. Listen to and download the songs from the Twelve Songs Project, and check out the video for “Cars Roll Down,” embedded below:

In preparation for their forthcoming Permalight release (March 2nd), Rogue Wave have put out a special “Behind the Scenes” video, providing some background for the new album as well as two previously-unheard tracks (“Solitary Guns” and “Stars and Stripes”):

Continuing his tradition of providing stellar remixes of indie rock favorites, Amplive has released his various takes on Why?‘s Eskimo Snow. The result is a set of five remixes with Amp’s hip hop seal of approval:

[audio:] Why? – “Against You” [Amplive Remix]

Lastly, there have been several Bay Area visitors to the Daytrotter studios as of late. Port O’Brien did an encore session, Social Studies were warmly discovered in this session by the Daytrotter folks, and the Mother Hips recorded this session to add to their years of work.