Michael Zapruder

Congratulations to talented indie songwriter Michael Zapruder, who just announced signing to Southern California label SideCho Records. Quote their announcement:

SideCho Records is very pleased to announce the signing of Michael Zapruder to the label’s roster! Michael Zapruder’s music has been praised from coast to coast, from Magnet Magazine to KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic in LA; and Pitchfork Media to Austin’s South by Southwest.

His unique songs always arrest listeners, and with his debut album on SideCho Records, entitled Dragon Chinese Cocktail Horoscope, the recorded document has finally fully caught up to the writing. Recorded in one marathon two-week session with Scott Solter, (whose other credits include Spoon, Mountain Goats, John Vanderslice).

Dragon… has a deeply eerie power that hypnotizes us. The songs, as Zapruder’s always do, overleap the boundaries of the expected without ever leaving listeners feeling betrayed, and end up seeming like new classics. The band, sometimes referred as Rain of Frogs is an unlikely and ever-expanding community of the Bay Area’s finest musicians, now numbering around thirty members, and including members of the Decemberists, Camper van Beethoven, and Tom Waits’ bands.

Zapruder’s first record was a quadruple record of songs written and recorded one per week for the year of 1999.

Dragon Chinese Cocktail Horoscope will be released October 2008 on SideCho Records.

Zapruder also sent us the new album’s track list and directed our attention to the
band’s Tumblr blog. The track list is:

1. Happy New Year
2. Lucy’s Handmade Paper
3. Ads for Feelings
4. Can’t We Bring You Home
5. Black Wine
6. Harbor Saints
7. South Kenosha
8. Bang on a Drum
9. White Raven
10. Second Sunday in Ordinary Time
11. Experimental Film